Intimidating TBR tag

001

top left to bottom right: Les Mis, The Kite Runner, The Hippopotamus, The Picture of Dorian Gray / Hollow City, Fragile Things, Brave New World, Tales from Watership Down, The Casual Vacancy

This post turned out to be pretty long, so hit that read more!

  1. What book have you been unable to finish?

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

I was excited to start this book because at the time I fancied myself a fan of dystopian novels. Spoiler alert: I was wrong. I barely made it halfway through the book, mostly because I was on the train and didn’t have many options. I still want to finish it someday, but for now I have an unfinished book and deep hatred for all things dystopian.

  1. What book have you yet to read because you just haven’t had the time?

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

It’s not that I don’t have the time, per se, because my entire TBR shelf is books I don’t have the time for, it’s mostly that I actually want to read this one but I want to finish everything I’m currently reading first. My ‘currently reading’ shelf on Goodreads has nearly 40 books and that’s not even all of them. Yeah.

  1. What book have you yet to read because it’s a sequel?

Tales from Watership Down by Richard Adams

Now that’s just me being stupid – it was 2013, I was in Moscow on my own for the first time, and I saw Watership Down in a bookstore and bought it immediately. It wasn’t until later that I realized I actually bought the second book. I never managed to find the first one in the same edition, so until I do, this book will remain in my TBR.

  1. What book have you yet to read because it’s brand new?

Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman

Not my newest purchase, but I’ve actually managed to read all the books I bought later. Very excited to start it, but only after I have finished two other Gaiman books I’m reading at the moment.

  1. What book have you yet to read because you read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

I read a lot of Wilde’s short stories when I was younger and I hated them. Absolutely hated them. But recently I read The Importance of Being Earnest and liked it a whole lot, so now I have no idea what to expect from Dorian Gray, but at least it doesn’t seem as dreadful as it did a couple of years ago.

  1. What book have you yet to read because you’re just not in the mood for it?

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

I expect The Kite Runner to be a pretty heavy read, so I want to be in the right mental state to start it, I suppose. I have my own copy in Russian and have borrowed a Turkish copy from my university so I could read them side by side, and I’m looking forward to it, but probably not until summer. Or next year. Or like 2025.

  1. What book have you yet to read because it’s humongous? 

Les Misérables by Victor Hugo

I highly doubt this book needs any kind of explanation. My edition is over 12 hundred pages, and the font is really, really small.

  1. What book have you yet to read because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?

The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling

I bought it when it first came out in Russian, around the summer of 2013. It was red and yellow and bright and by JK Rowling – I just had to get it! Never managed to get to it, though.

  1. What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile?

The Hippopotamus by Stephen Fry

I’ve never been more intimidated by a book in my entire life, and I’ve read ancient epics. I bought The Hippopotamus during the same bookshop trip as Tales from Watership Down (I think we can all agree that that trip was a total failure) because I’m a huge Stephen Fry fan and because I liked the cover. I started it twice since and barely made a dent in it both times – the first time I read about five pages before I realized it was way above my level and gave up. Second time around I made it farther by about 15 pages, but having realized it took me an hour to read ten pages I gave up again. However, I don’t lose hope and am going to read it someday. When I open The Hippopotamus on a random page, I always come across the same zoophilic scene, so I guess I have that to look forward to.

 

Leave a Reply

